Early childhood development

Early Childhood Development

image description

Course Description

This course covers learning programs, communication skills, guidance & support, promotion of healthy development of learning programs, academic literacy skills, provision of care and support, as well as general management

Welcome to the FET Certificate: Early Childhood Development Level 4


This is an NQF registered qualification (SAQA Reg. No – 58761)


Learner Entry Requirements:

Who should do this qualification?

It is assumed that if you register for this qualification you have the following:

  • Communication and Mathematical Literacy at the level of NQF Level 3 or equivalent as well as a Second language at NQF level 2 or equivalent.
  • You are already working in the Early Childhood Development industry or wish to seek a career in this industry.


Programme Structure:

Based on the qualification description and requirements, the ECD Qualification is divided into 5 Learning Units with modular sub-divisions, based on the exit level outcomes and related assessment criteria.

Communicate in a variety of ways within Early Childhood Development and societal settings.

  • Fundamental Communication
  • Fundamental Literacy Communication

Learning Unit 2: Fundamental Numeracy

  • Use of mathematics literacy in real life and education, training and development situations

Learning Unit 3: Plan and prepare for Early Childhood Development

  • Plan and prepare for Early Childhood Development

Learning Unit 4: Facilitate and monitor the development of babies, toddlers and development situations

  • Facilitate and monitor the development of babies, toddlers, and development

Learning Unit 5: Provide, care and support for babies, toddlers and young children

  • Provide care and support for babies, toddlers, and young children

Other Programmes

  • Gr RR
  • Gr R
  • Senoir phase
  • Eduquest kit
  • NQF level 4 certificate
  • NQF level 5 diploma

Course Curriculum

Module 1

Final Assignment